Orchestral Works

Piano Concerto No 1 opus 15

(in 3 movements 4 versions – concerto commenced in 1969, final version completed 2003)

Listen to the Work

Piano Concerto No 2 opus 31

(in 3 movements) (1977-79)

Listen to the Work

Little Suite for Orchestra opus 33

(originally entitled ‘Divertimento for Orchestra’) (in 4 movements) (1978-2006)

Threnody 1 for String Orchestra opus 37

(originally entitled ‘Rage, Rage against the Dying of the Light’) (1980)

New Azania Overture opus 38

(also known as ‘An Antipodean Overture’) (1980)

Threnody 2 for Strings, Clarinet and Timpani opus 39

(originally subtitled ‘Steve Biko in Heaven’) (1981)

Listen to the Work

Violin Concerto opus 40

(in 5 movements) (1981-1990)

Requiem for Orchestra opus 42

(orchestral requiem in 4 movements - originally entitled ‘Requiem of 1984’) (1983-1985)

Portrait of Emily opus 43

(settings of five Poems of Emily Dickinson for soprano and orchestra/or ensemble) (1987)

Poems set

  1. I’ll tell you how the Sun rose
  2. My life closed twice before its close
  3. The Soul selects her own Society
  4. After great pain, a formal feeling comes
  5. Exultation is the going of an inland soul to sea

Listen to the Work

Children of the Sun opus 44

(symphonic poem in 4 movements) (1989)

Listen to the Work

Symphony opus 45

(in 4 movements) (1993-1997) (duration 34’)

Late Gothic Overture opus 45d

(also known as ‘Concert Overture’) (1996-1997)

Dance to Freedom opus 46


A Peal of Bells for D.B.Cooper opus 47

for strings, tubular bells and celesta (2006)

Listen to the Work

A Cry from a World Aflame opus 48

for strings, trumpets and percussion (2009-2010)

Fanfares for Tristan opus 49


Seeing Stars opus 55